In mybookPets Collection (edit)
Added to your pets collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Edinburgh Animal Hospital

CLOSED NOW

Today:7:30 am - 5:00 pm

Tomorrow:8:00 am - 1:00 pm

141 Hillcrest Pkwy Suite#106,

Chesapeake, VA 23322

(757) 296-8683

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

10

years

in Business

Best Veterinary - 5 Star Rated Clinic -All Animals- Affordable Care.
BBB Rating:
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
What would you do if your pet was injured in an accident? It's good to have a plan and to know that you can depend on the caring professionals at Edinburgh Animal Hospital in Chesapeake, VA. We offer you peace of mind during stressful circumstances. Our hospital offers a wide range of veterinary services to the area. We specialize in small animal medicine, surgery, and dentistry. We also offer:
  • Pet boarding
  • Vaccinations
  • Nutritional and behavioral counseling
  • In-house laboratory services
  • Spaying and neutering
  • Declawing and nail clipping
  • Eye and ear cleaning We can help treat allergies, arthritis, chronic illnesses and skin disorders. In addition, we also offer a wide variety of veterinary supplies, vitamins and pet care products. Gift certificates are available. We will do all we can to make our procedures as comfortable as possible for your pet. Give us a call today for more information or to make an appointment!
  • Sponsored Links
    Brands:
    frontline, heartgard, purina, wellness
    Payment method:
    check, cash
    Location:
    Edinburgh Commons East
    Neighborhood:
    Pleasant Grove
    Categories:
    Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals, Veterinarians, Pet Services, Animal Health Products, Pet Specialty Services, Veterinary Specialty Services, Veterinary Information & Referral Services, Dog & Cat Grooming & Supplies, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Kennels, Pet Grooming, Veterinarian Emergency Services, Veterinary Labs
    Other Information:

    Parking: Lot

    More »

    Less »

    Provided by

    Reviews

    Share Review

    Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

    Updated: 6/26/2014

    Posted: 6/26/2014

    Overall

    I brought our lab here for an emergency visit. Although the staff and vet were friendly, I felt pressured into surgery. I declined at the time to think about it and paid for the visit. The vet caught me on the way out to say she had tested positive for heart worms ( I did not know they ran the test) and suggested we leave her for treatment. She had been on heartguard, but I had missed that month's pill. I again declined and went to another vet for a second opinion. The second vet stated our dog did not need surgery and worst of all ran another heart worm test The test came back negative.

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse
    Updated: 12/29/2013

    Posted: 12/29/2013

    Overall

    I can't imagine a friendlier staff and doctors. I'm sorry one of the reviewers felt differently, but I have taken 3 of my dogs and one cat to Dr Campbell for several years now and they are the friendliest, kindest, most compassionate group of people I have dealt with, and my pets feel the same way. My dog, Sarah, absolutely loves the staff and gets so excited to go there, in spite of her "Boo Boo's at the time. Animals are good judges of people, and if my pets are happy going there it makes my life so much easier!

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse

    Posted: 4/30/2012

    Overall
    I've been taking my pets (and ...

    I've been taking my pets (and stray animals) to Edinburgh for 3 years now. Both the staff and the vets have been amazing and very helpful - whether it was when my trouble pup got kicked in the face by a horse, my old dog was limping, or I had yet another feral cat that needed to be checked out! Not only are the staff and vets great... but they were always affordable for me... which is good news with all of the pets and stray animals in my life!

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse

    Posted: 4/24/2012

    Overall
    We had been taking our dogs th...

    We had been taking our dogs there for almost a year when one of our dogs needed emergency care. I found my dog seizing when we woke up in the morning and rushed him to Edinburgh Animal Hospital. My husband waited in the car while I went inside to talk to the staff. It was first thing in the morning when they opened. The staff came in from the backdoor and said to someone else in the back “oh, it was just an walk-in.” So I told her that we thought since they had been our vet all this time, we wanted him to be put down where the staff was familiar with his condition. This was her exact word “I can not have your dog seizing here waiting for the doctor to show up. You need to go to Emergency Room.” So I told her, we understood that it was time to let him go, but just wanted to have it done somewhere he had been seen before. We wanted to wait for the vet to arrive. She told us again “I cant have your dog seizing here, you need to go now.” Needless to say, it was a very bad day for us since we had to say goodbye to our family member of 12 years and mostly were disappointed that we were treated poorly at this vet where we took all our dogs. We never received any phone calls from this clinic. A card was sent to us a week later with their condolences. Months later, we called to have our prescription refilled for our other dog, and came to find out our account has been deactivated because Dr. Campbell was very “displeased” that my husband complained about the clinic on the website. And that he deactivated our account without notification. Make the long story short, if you are looking for a quality care provider that actually cares more about your pets then the dollar signs they represent, look somewhere else. <br> <br>Everything happened for a reason, the best thing they ever did for us was to deactivate our account because we actually found a new vet that cares about our animals. For that, we are most grateful.

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse
    claimed iconBusiness Response.04/27/2012

    This reviewer is related to the one below, Coastiek, and we would just refer to the previous response to that review. We hope to exceed all our clients expectations for quality of care, but unfortunately regardless of our efforts for some people that is not possible. We won't continue to use the internet to respond back and forth to this person.

    This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

    Posted: 3/7/2012

    Overall
    We have been taking our 2 dogs...

    We have been taking our 2 dogs to Edinburgh Animal Hospital for over three years and we love Dr. Campbell and his staff. I have a very elderly dog and also a 2 year old puppy; we have never been pressured for unnecessary tests/food/procedures. We have lived in several different cities and had 8 different vets over the years. Dr. Campbell is one of the best! Not only are their prices are extremely reasonable- and I've gotten estimates at several other area hospitals-, but their facility is very clean and they really care about their clients!

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse

    Posted: 10/3/2011

    Overall
    I had been going to Edinburgh ...

    I had been going to Edinburgh Animal Hospital for more than a year when my dog developed an illness. I discovered my dog at the bottom of the stairs on a Friday and called them. They refused to see my dog because they close in 30 minutes. I made an appointment for first thing the next morning. The vet said to try some medication, it might help him get better. I did, that cost me $250. Monday we woke up and he was seizing, we called Edinburgh, they said they open at 7:30, we were there at 7:35. Upon entering, one of the people took one look at me and said, &quot;oh it is only a walk in.&quot; We explained the situation and she said, there is nothing they can do, take your dog to the emergency vet, the doctor won't be here until 8:30. We asked if we could wait for the vet to show up since we have been going there for my dog's care. She said &quot;No, I cannot have your dog here seizing for an hour.&quot; &quot;I am sorry,&quot; she said in a very sarcastic tone. I had to put my dog down because of these seizures at the emergency Vet. And what a difference they are from one of the staff members from Edinburgh Vet. What Edinburgh failed to do was anything, but take my money, they abandoned us in our true time of need, it almost leads me to believe that they are only in it for the money and not the care of the animals. Not even a phone call to follow up that evening, I am taking all of my dogs to another vet. Good luck if you use them, when you really need them they will have you go elsewhere!!!

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse
    claimed iconBusiness Response.01/14/2012

    Thank you for your feedback, we know how difficult it is to deal with a severe illness in a 12 year old dog and make the choice for euthanasia, we are very sorry for this pet’s loss. Due to the nature of this review we feel it best to clarify some of the details of this case to make the public more aware of the true situation. Regarding the first call on Friday afternoon, upon learning of the details of this pet’s case my receptionist recommended the owner take the pet to our local 24 hour emergency hospital because he might require blood tests, xrays, and possible hospitalization. As we are not open 24 hours, when clients call close to closing time with emergencies, we feel it in the best interest of their pet to directly refer to the emergency vet rather than have them come in to us, pay an exam fee, only to have us determine additional care is necessary overnight. This owner felt his pet’s issues were not severe enough to go to emergency that night. The following day we added him in to an already busy Saturday morning and spent well over an hour examining the pet, running blood tests and doing x-rays. The pet had partial paralysis down one side of its body and after all our tests came back normal it was discussed with the owner that their pet likely had a brain tumor or stroke. Our Doctor thoroughly discussed this diagnosis with the owner and offered medicine to try in spite of the very poor prognosis. Unfortunately, this pet’s condition worsened the following day with seizures developing and confirming our diagnosis of a brain tumor. Like many small animal hospitals in our area we open early for drop offs and surgery drop off so clients can get to work. Our Doctors don’t start seeing appointments until 8:30 6 days a week. When this pet presented to our staff in full seizure at 7:30 am, they immediately recommended proceeding to our emergency Veterinarian rather than wait 1 hour and let this pet continue to seize and suffer. We are very sorry this client didn’t feel we were compassionate enough about this situation, we were only trying to recommend the best course of action for their pet. We pride ourselves on friendly, compassionate care and if this owner had called to discuss their concerns after the episode I’m sure it would have prevented their harsh comments found here.

    This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

    Posted: 2/27/2011

    Overall
    Finally a Great Vet!

    Over the past year, I have taken Baron to several veterinarians in the Chesapeake area only to be really disappointed by the staffs’ attitudes and the level of treatment. I was getting tired of being lectured by technicians right out school that I was feeding my dog the wrong food and I needed to buy their food which contained pheasant and wild rice. We do not eat that well! Plus Baron has an eye problem that we have been trying to have assessed and treated. Finally, I found Dr. Geoff Campbell and Edinburgh Animal Hospital. Baron and I were both treated extremely well. Dr. Campbell knew immediately what is going on with Baron’s eye and the treatment for it. No outrageous fees, just excellent care at decent prices and everyone (even the practice’s cats) are nice. Reminds me of the veterinarians I knew growing up on my family's farm.

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse

    Posted: 5/27/2010

    Overall
    Excellent!!

    My dog Elvis had been mauled by another dog.. You could not ask for better care. They took Elvis right away to check him out. The Doctor and staff were very caring and kept us informed as to what they were doing every step of the way. It turned out that Elvis was going to have to go to an emergency surgical center and they had everything we needed to take with us. It was a very traumatic time for Elvis and us. Edinburgh Animal Hospital is the best.

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse

    Posted: 8/6/2009

    Overall
    Fabulous

    HUGE waiting room. Very friendly and welcoming staff. The prices are very affordable compared to other vets I have been to- and I have been to a lot. Normally I only go to a vet once before I move on to a different one because I have never really been impressed with any vet. This is the first vet who I have actually been happy to go back to. They treat all of my animals well. The doctor asked me what I feed without trying to sell me any dog food. In fact, they have never tried to sell me anything I didn't want. Their is also never much of a wait there and they can always get me in pretty quickly. This place was recommeded to me by my mom and I have already recommended them to others. I have since moved from Chesapeake and now I drive almost 30 miles to go back to them.

    Was this helpful?Yes
    |
    Flag Abuse
    Sponsored Links
    Map & Directions
    Send to Phone
    Edinburgh Animal Hospital

    141 Hillcrest Pkwy Suite#106ChesapeakeVA 23322

    (757) 296-8683

    Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

    Cancel

    Your text message was sent.

    To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

    To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

    There was an error sending your text.

    Please try again.

    Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

    E-Mail
    Message Business

    What would you like to know?

    Cancel

    Sorry!

    We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

    Add a Photo
    Edinburgh Animal Hospital

    141 Hillcrest Pkwy Suite#106ChesapeakeVA 23322

    (757) 296-8683

    • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
    • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
    • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
    • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
    Add a New Collection
    Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
    Please try again.
    Collection Name cannot be empty
    Upload a Photo
    (optional)

    Remaining Characters: 100

    Remaining Characters: 500

    Cancel
    Save
    We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
    × Not a Fan

    × Thank You!

    Feedback