In mybookPets Collection (edit)
Added to your pets collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Monroe Road Animal Hospital

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details



in Business

YP Qualified

Social Links:
Visit Twitter Page   |   Visit Facebook Page

Regular Hours

  • Climate Controlled
  • Climate Controlled Boarding
  • Food
  • Pet Food
  • Veterinary Supplies
Payment method:
discover, amex, master card, visa
Echo Hills
Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals, Veterinarians, Pet Stores, Kennels, Pet Services, Pet Boarding & Kennels, Pet Food, Veterinary Specialty Services
Other Information:

Parking: Lot, Valet

Specialties: Mammals

More »

Less »


Monroe Road Animal Hospital


Review this business:Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

I recheck everything when it c...

I recheck everything when it comes to my girls. Dr. Widay is great. Dr. Davis, not so much.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
My family and I have been usin...

My family and I have been using this animal hospital since 2008. The staff is wonderful and the vets are the best. They have 2 late nights so we can come in after work if need be. The prices are within reason and a little lower in comparison to some other vets we have tried in the past. Most important, you call tell that the entire staff really cares about the animals. They also have a boarding kennel right beside the hospital. We also love their Facebook page posts!

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse

My cats have gone to MRAH since their stray mother had them outside our apartment seven years ago. When we brought the litter in, they were all tested for feline leukemia and AIDS (momma kitty tested positive but the kittens were all negative). These were very expensive tests, especially for cats we planned to place. The doctors at MRAH gave us a discount since we rescued the kittens and were fostering them until we could find them homes. Today, we still have three of the five kitt...view moreens and a relative has the very healthy and happy mom cat. Over the years we have had varying degrees of costly vet trips, from annual checkups and vaccinations to life-threatening illnesses. The staff has always been kind, accommodating, and willing to work with us on the bill. Yes, it can get expensive, but I know that they are very thorough in their treatment. Now we face new challenges as we move to Raleigh. Finding a new vet that is as great as MRAH is one of the biggest ones.view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
MRAH Response to Money Hungry

It is hard to address a complaint that is so complex and seemingly personal in nature. One only needs to look around at all the small businesses that have closed to understand that the current economic situation we are facing is real. Regarding the ""sweet vet"" no longer here due to the economy, she was an associate veterinarian who happened to do acupuncture in addition to regular services. Regarding the ""fishy"" comment. Monroe Road Animal Hospital has not ""hired a new one"". We c...view moreurrently have an independant acupuncture veterinarian who uses our facility once a week to perform acupuncture on patients for clients who choose that form of treatment for their pets. At Monroe Road Hospital we make recommendations to our clients, it is ultimatley up to the client to choose what they want for their pet. We understand that each pet owners needs differ and make every effort to accomodate each need and budget. We sincerely apologize if this was construed as being pushy or ""money hungry."" Regarding 3 year shot rotations, we have many clients with older pets who are on this schedule and are happy to accomodate, however we do like to educate our clients on the pros and cons, as well as the cost effectivness of 3 year rotations. Regarding the stray program, Monroe Road Animal Hospital has had an active stray program for over 20 years that has placed thousands of animals that would have been euthanized otherwise. Unfortunately our program can only hold so many animals at one time. Once we are full we must place the animals we have before accepting more into the program. We do not keep pets from clients that cannot pay their bills. This would be a loose loose situation, as we would be forced to house, feed and supply medical care indefinately for these pets. Regarding our receptionists or any other staff members: We pride ourselves as having a professional and friendly staff. Any issues a client may have regardng an empployee at this animal hospital are taken very seriously and acted on immediately if that client brings their concern to the management of this facility. However, under these circumstances it is very difficult to know the real nature of the complaint, therefore it is complicated to resolve such issues. We regret that your experience here was less than perfect, as we do strive for perfection with every visit. We also invite you to contact us directly if you are interested in resolving this issue.view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
Money Hungry

Everytime I've been to this hospital I've been sadly disappointed (needless to say I will not be returning for future disappointment.)\r
First off, they are great over the phone to make appointments or get information on prices, but once you get there the receptionist is rude. The one I seem to get ""stuck with"" (Deliah) is always short, rude, and talks down to everyone she speaks with.\r
I've never had a problem with the nurses, they are always friendly, somewhat pushy but
...view moreI guess you have to expect that working for money hungry bosses.\r
There used to be a really sweet vet there named Dr. Cramer, but she is no longer there due to ""the economy"" but something is fishy about that because she was their accupuncture vet and right after she left they hired a new one. hmmmm \r
The other two vets want to push everything under the sun on you no matter what. My senior dog was in for routine shots and they wanted me to do $200 worth of bloodwork ""just becasue of his age."" He is healthy! Not overweight, not too skinny, and barely considered a senior. They also made me feel bad for saying I didn't want to do the bloodwork and also for asking about doing a three year rotation on the yearly shots (which i read the AVMA even recommends.)\r
I've even been checking out upfront and heard them threaten to keep a lady's cat because she didn't want to pay her bill because she was quoted one price but was charged a lot more. I think that's illegal.\r
The adoption/stray program is a joke too. I had two 6 week old kittens that I was going to give a large donation for and they wouldn't take them. Guess who has two new cats because I couldn't find a home for them
view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
The Stray Cute Kitten
The Gray Stray Kitten

there great

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
Love this place

I dont agree with the other crappy review here. Ive known the place for years and I completely trust them with my baby.

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
claimed iconBusiness Response.02/19/2011

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to continuing to care for your pets in the future:)

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
nickel & dime ripoff!

My cat was throwing up and I went there to see if her teeth were decayed.\r
They said to prepare for sadation for that so it would be $45 plus $65. By the time she was sleeping, the bill had reached $415 and they were still adding things on at that point.\r
I didn't have alot of choices at the point where my cat was unconcious on the table and they were making me feel like a heel if I denied her the treatments they were pushing.\r
I was fighting tears because I was already $200 into
...view more my household utility money and the vet was guilting me, no, hard court pressing me into a rabies shot. \r
She was saying I was illegal if I didn't do it and I didn't have the money .\r
But on the bill she had added $20.60 for pepsid (for upset stomach) which you can buy at the store.\r
I felt they were in it to pad their pockets and had no concern for my inability to pay for unneeded addons.\r
That vet, Widay looked at me like trash for not giving my cat the rabies shot.\r
All she had to do was sit down with me prior to the time my cat was sleeping on the table and say I needed it and reset the priorities for the other erronious charges.\r
In the end, my cat tested normal on everything and I only went there so they could look in her mouth.\r
I paid $357. and today I'm trying to sort out how to pay my bills. \r
I love my cat and I try to do right by her.
view less

Like this review?YesFlag Abuse
Provided by Citysearch
Map & Directions
More About the Business
Ad Banner
Serving Charlotte and the Surrounding Areas
Send to Phone
Monroe Road Animal Hospital

3736 Monroe RdCharlotteNC 28205

(704) 333-3336

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.


Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

Message Business

What would you like to know?



We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Monroe Road Animal Hospital

3736 Monroe RdCharlotteNC 28205

(704) 333-3336

  • Photos should be clear and in focus
  • Photos should be of the business, product or service, not an illustration or clip art
  • Photos should not be an advertisment or include contact information
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

We just redesigned! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!