In mybookCar Collection (edit)
Added to your car collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your car collection.

Golden Star Driving School

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

26

years

in Business

BBB Rating:
A+
BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
BBB Accredited businesses follow the BBB Code of Business Practices and pay a fee for accreditation review and monitoring. Accreditation is not a BBB endorsement or evaluation of the business’ product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Rating and Accreditation information may be delayed up to a week.
Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
We provide friendly, professional instructors that are patient with nervous and senior drivers. We specialize in teen drivers education and training. AMENITY All Major Credit Cards Accepted
Extra Phones:

Phone: (650) 692-9098

Sponsored Links
Location:
801 Mahler, Suite 112, Burlingame
Neighborhoods:
Bayfront, Inner Bayshore
Accreditation:

State License # 3655

Fully Insured and Bonded

Categories:
Driving Proficiency Test Service, Driving Instruction, Traffic Schools
Other Information:

Classes Offered: Driving Instruction

More »

Less »

Reviews

YP Insider badge
Review this business:
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

Posted: 12/6/2015

Overall

Timothy Sao is an excellent instructor. I passed my behind-the-wheel driving test making only one error (all my fault) when up to twenty mistakes are allowed. He was able to change the bad driving habits I've had for years with firm, clear instructions. I highly recommend him and am grateful for his helping me pass the test. I don't think I could have done it without him!

Helpful?Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
I gave Tim 5 stars because he ...

I gave Tim 5 stars because he is a great instructor. He is very professional and has a great sense of humor. That's why you don't have to hesitate, just call Tim and everything will be fine.

Helpful?Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
Tim Sao is a great teacher by ...

Tim Sao is a great teacher by going step by step and teaching you how to be a safe and good driver. He is actually very punctual. He teaches you the secrets to succes in your driving test know how to calm you down. He is very nice and understanding and knows what he is talking about. It is also affordable.

Helpful?Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
Don't Even Waste Your Time

So I just barely passed my driver's test. With no thanks to Tim Sao. Many of the students below were probably pushed to write a good review about Tim Sao after their lessons. "Would you do me a favor? And write a good review for me on yellowpages.com?" Why would I write a good review for you if I didn't receive good instruction? Many of the things this "teacher" told me was going to be on the test, was actually indeed-incorrect. Either he is not updated with the new rules of the road or he is still saying "I like the 2007 version of the DMV manuel better." For example- he made me slow down for railroad tracks; "Never go past railroad tracks over 15 mph." As I was taking my driver's test, the examiner actually said to me "that could be the most dangerous thing you could ever do while driving- slowing down across the tracks" In addition, I don't understand why he didn't take me to the actual driving course/ area where the test was going to be held. How would taking me to a random neighborhood prepare me for the faster-paced area of the driving course? I also found it extremely unprofessional and irritating every single time he received a phone call. He just HAD to pick up the phone and start talking to some random guy about checking out girls and partying later on in the night. Oh yeah, and good luck ever trying to schedule things with this man. First appointment, he couldnt make it- ok thats reasonable. But I rescheduled about 3 times before he actually got it right. And if you're looking for a second and third appointment- he'll probably forget so don't expect to be a priority. And when I finally thought I was finished with this racist, condescending, pompoust "instructor" he said he was going to drop off my certificate of completion for the 6 hrs. training next week. Well apparently "next week" meant a MONTH later! I literally went out of the country for vacation and came back and no responses to my prior and post emails, calls, and texts. If he knows you're calling because he missed an appointment or you're trying to schedule another- he will ignore your calls. A couple of times my own mother had to call him from her phone because he wouldn't pick up my calls. So after consistantly calling and texting Mr. Sao for my certificate of completion, he finally dropped off my certificate. But without call or warning- he just decided to drop it off in my mailbox. The one time he did pick up all I heard were excuses. Every single time he is mistaken, he uses a variety of excuses. So as I end this review, all I have to say is for $175- I feel like I could've gotten a lot more for my money. I was not taught to back up in a straight line therefore I failed that part of the driver's test. In addition, I was not taught to drive on the freeway nor parallel park. Thanks for nothing Tim.

claimed iconBusiness Response07/11/2008

Thank you for your review and concern. Most of my students and parents gave me excellent review. I feel bad because you,re not happy. Maybe you did not took your driver education and the DMV. guideline seriously, because you misunderstood DMV's guideline. DMV prohibited students and driving school practicing on the examiner's driving course. DMV guide that the speed limit is 15 mph within 100 feet of a railroad tracks, please see page 22 DMV hand book. DMV parent-teen book page 9 backing the car. DMV hand book 2008 missing one good page because 2007 on page 12 that talk about the driving test. Thanks again for your concern, Timothy Sao

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.
Helpful?Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
I just got my first driving le...

I just got my first driving lesson today from Mr. Sao and it was wonderful. He is very patient and understandable. I learned many things that i did not learn throughout online drivers ed. His explanations were very clear and easy to understand unlike many of the explanations online.
I am looking forward in the next two classes.

Helpful?(1)Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
Tim is great.

Golden star is amazing. Tim is a fantastic teacher. In class he teaches everything step by step so by the time you get out on the road with him, you'll feel like a pro. I know many people who have gone through his class and all of them are great drivers. Some people that have gone through his class have gotten minus zero on their written test. Tim also shows his students, on the road, what the driving test will be like. He knows how to calm people down and make them feel more relaxed in the car as they begin to drive for the very first time. Tim is very patient and a great teacher. Anyone who takes his class turns out to be a great and safe driver. :]

Helpful?Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
From Zero to Hero

TIM, IS SUCH A GREAT INSTRUCTOR, HE IS VERY FRIENDLY AND HE TAUGHT ME LOTS OF STUFF AND CORRECTED ALL OF THE ERRORS IN THE WAY I DRIVE, WHICH I THOUGHT WAS RIGHT WHEN I WAS TAKING LESSONS FROM A PREVIOUS DRIVING SCHOOL. I SIMPLY LOVE THE WAY HE HANDLES HIS STUDENT, HE NEVER SHOUTED AT ME EVEN ONCE, INSTEAD HE MAKES ME PULL OVER AND READ THE DMV MANUAL AND MADE ME REALIZE WHAT I DID MYSELF. IF YOU WANT TO PASS THE BEHIND THE WHEEL TEST, THEN TAKE GOLDEN STAR, FOR TIM'S BEFORE TEST-TEST RUN IS FANTASTIC.

Helpful?(1)Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
GIVES GREAT DIRECTION

IF YOU WANT TO PASS YOUR DRIVING TEST WITH FLYING COLORS AND PASS YOUR WRITTEN TEST. YOU SHOULD SIGN UP WITH MR. SAO. HES VERY POLITE AND VERY PATIENT. IF YOU HAVE A VERY TIGHT SCHEDULE. HE'LL TRY TO WORK AROUND IT. HE'S BEEN A VERY GREAT TEACHER. I RECOMMEND HIS SERVICES TO ANYONE WHO WANTS TO MAKE IT.

Helpful?(1)Flag
Updated: 3/21/2013
Overall
Great Instructor!

I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THE WAY MR. TIMOTHY CONDUCTS HIS CLASSES. HE IS VERY PROFESSIONAL, PATIENT AND HAS THE PERFECT WAY TO TEACH DRIVING WITH REASONABLE PRICE! I DO HIGHTLY RECOMMEND HIM! ALL OF THE PEOPLE THAT WE DID RECOMMENDED TO HIM, PASSED THEIR TEST ON THEIR FIRST TRY!

Helpful?(1)Flag
Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Golden Star Driving School

801 Mahler Rd Ste 108BurlingameCA 94010

(650) 342-5336

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a Photo
Golden Star Driving School

801 Mahler Rd Ste 108BurlingameCA 94010

(650) 342-5336

  • Photos should be in .gif, .jpg, or .png format
  • Photos should represent this business (ex. storefront, interior, services/amenities offered, etc.)
  • Photos must not be of an objectionable nature (offensive, profane, pornographic, obscene, etc.)
  • All photos submitted are subjected to YP Terms of Service
Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback