In mybookPets Collection (edit)
Added to your pets collection.
Removed From mybook!

We took this business out of your pets collection.

Animal Hospital Of North Asheville Inc

Add to mybook

This listing has been
added to mybook.

This listing has been
removed from mybook.

Business Details

39

years

in Business

Hours:

Regular Hours

General Info:
Animal Hospital of North Asheville provides medical, dental and surgical care for animals. AHNA s offers various services including 24-hour nursing care, behavioral medicine, bronchoscopy, emergency and critical care, internal medicine, nutritional counseling, pain management, medical boarding, blood and plasma transfusion, dental cleaning and care, endoscopy, radiology, electrocautery, anesthesia and hospice services. The hospital is based in Asheville, N.C.
Sponsored Links
Brands:
wellness
Payment method:
amex, all major credit cards
Accreditation:

AAHA Accredited

Categories:
Veterinarians Equipment & Supplies, Veterinary Specialty Services, Veterinary Clinics & Hospitals, Veterinarians, Livestock Equipment & Supplies
Other Information:

Parking: Lot

Specialties: Felines, Cats, Puppies, Dogs, Doggies, Kittens, Canines

More »

Less »

Reviews

Hi there!
Rate this business!
First-classBetter than mostAbout what I expectedNot the worst...Disappointing
Click to Rate
Share Review

Like this review? Share it on your social network to get the word out!

10/21/2016

Overall
Expertise
Professionalism

Here are a few reasons why I would never recommend the North Asheville Animal Hospital.

1. I called the North Asheville Animal Hospital at eight in the morning because my dog, who is twelve years old, hadn't eaten in two days, this was day number three, and he could barely walk. They said they would get back to me. They finally got back to me at 5:30. I was worried sick the entire day and when I did bring him in, I had to carry him as he was unable to walk.

2. After that visit, I had to bring my dog back three times because he was getting worse. This went on for a period of three weeks. Finally, I thought he was dying so I went to the Upstate Veterinary Specialists.

3. Another time when I questioned the price of a procedure, the owner asked if I questioned buying clothing that's marked up 200-300%. Then he suggested I go try another vet and he made it clear that he was a busy man and to stop wasting his time with my question.

4. It's almost impossible to get the same vet on consecutive visits unless you call weeks in advance. When my dog was very sick, I saw three different vets in three weeks and received three different diagnosis. One diagnosis was for pancreatitis, which he has, but they didn't ask about his diet or inform me that I should put him on a strict low fat diet which was negligent and could have further jeopardized my dog's health. They gave me zero advice on what to do about the diagnosis. They just gave me drugs. I went home and did my own research so I'd know how to help my dog. The vets are rushed. It's a fast paced environment which is impersonal.

In my experience, the North Asheville Animal Hospital is the worst clinic I've gone to in over forty years of pet ownership. If you want to pay a lot of money for a fancy building and be belittled and berated for asking a sincere question, then I recommend them, but start saving your money because you'll need it. It's marked up like clothing. The owner said it himself.

claimed iconBusiness Response10/26/2016

Dear Tom, We are sincerely sorry that you feel we failed you and your pet, but please know we did try very hard. We respect you and understand that dealing with a serious illness in a beloved pet is very hard. All of us at AHNA regret that we cannot offer free care and that some patients require complex diagnostics and more than simple care to get well. To keep costs low, we recommend only what is necessary and to do tests in an order that will give the most information at the least cost. We also are always working hard to stay within the financial limitations that the family has and in your case, provided some services at no charge. During my last conversation with you, I could not make you happy, so I did say that although we were honored to be your pet's health care provider if you are unhappy and dissatisfied, we will understand if you wish to try another veterinary hospital. We are glad you have found an animal hospital that you like and all of the doctors and staff and myself wish you and your pet the very best and regret that you felt disappointed by our efforts. Sincerely, Dave Thompson, DVM

This listing has been claimed by a business representative.

02/08/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
I've taken my pets here for 20 years

I've taken my pets here for 20 years. I'm always happy with the care my pets get and am always amazed at how the doctors here are on the cutting edge of technology. I feel at home at AHNA & so do my pets. Can't recommend this hospital highly enough.

01/21/2011

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Phenomenal Care for Cats

Taking my cats to the vet has always been a stressful experience - cats just don't like leaving home, but going to Animal Hospital of North Asheville with my cats is an entirely different experience. They go the extra mile to ensure that my cats are calm. One of my cats walked out of her carrier and laid down on the exam table - that has never happened! The doctors really seem to care about my cats' experience. I will never go anywhere else.

01/13/2011

Overall
So glad I found this vet

My wife and i recently moved to the Asheville area. We tried vet after vet, but none of them could give my dog the special care he needs. I finally tried Animal Hospital of North Asheville and now we will never go anywhere else. They have all the technology my dog needs and they are also very nice and affordable.

01/03/2011

Overall
Affordable Care

I was surprised at how affordable my vet bill was. My cat and dogs got a very thorough checkup, plus a few extra tests that I never got at my past vet, and the bill was actually $20 cheaper! Better care and the bill was reasonable - I'm so glad I found this vet. I was also amazed at how clean the hospital was.

09/09/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Great care for my Great Dane

I have a very large dog - a Great Dane - and as she gets older she requires a lot of care. I am so happy to have found this veterinarian, they think of everything.

05/19/2010

Provided by Citysearch - 
Overall
Best vet experience I've ever had!

I took my two large dogs to Animal Hospital of North Asheville for the first time and it was such a wonderful experience that I had to share. They cleared up ongoing problems with one of my dog's ears and skin. Dr. Earley and his assistant spent a lot of time with me explaining everything and making me and my dogs feel at ease.

The following may seem like a silly thing to note, but it made a world of difference in the overall vet visit - Dr. Earley didn't lift my big dogs up onto a table - they hate that! Instead, he got down on the floor with them and examined them there. They were much more comfortable on the floor and this made the whole visit much easier for them (and me!)

02/06/2008

Overall
Cared for my pet all night!

I love this place! They have great nurses who stay up all night to care for the patients. They give medicine for pain all night long. I really felt like my pet had the best of care.

Sponsored Links
Map & Directions
People Also Viewed
Send to Phone
Animal Hospital Of North Asheville Inc

1 Beaverdam RdAshevilleNC 28804

(828) 253-3393

Send this business listing as a text message to a mobile phone.

Cancel

Your text message was sent.

To opt out at anytime, send the word STOP to YP411.

To get a help message, send the word HELP to YP411.

There was an error sending your text.

Please try again.

Terms: The recipient of this text message may incur charges depending on their wireless carrier. Not all carriers are currently supported.

E-Mail
Message Business

What would you like to know?

Cancel

Sorry!

We were unable to send your message. Please try again later.

Add a New Collection
Oops! There was a problem saving the new custom collection.
Please try again.
Collection Name cannot be empty
Upload a Photo
(optional)

Remaining Characters: 100

Remaining Characters: 500

Cancel
Save
We just redesigned yp.com! Do you like it?
× Not a Fan

× Thank You!

Feedback